Home          About Us          Mamaroneck History          History Resources          Volunteer          Support Us          Contact Us
Archives & Collections


National Landmarks

"Purchase of Mamaroneck from the Siwanoys by John Richbell 1661," by Warren Chase Merritt (1897-1968) at the Mamaroneck Public Library
Mamaroneck History

Mamaroneck has a long and rich history that goes back to the 17th century. On September 23, 1661, John Richbell, a London merchant living in Oyster Bay, purchased the land on which the Town of Mamaroneck, Village of Mamaroneck, and Village of Larchmont are presently situated from the Siwanoy Indians. During the American Revolution, a small battle took place on Heathcote Hill. During the War of 1812, a British naval vessel shelled Mamaroneck. More recently, during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Mamaroneck saw an influx of immigrants from Italy. By that time, the area was defined by farming, fishing, lumbering, milling, and then manufacturing. Today, the area remains largely residential with a diverse population, flourishing small business community, and stunning views of the Long Island Sound.

Mamaroneck History at a Glance:

Chronology of Events (1661-1895)

Origin of Mamaroneck's Name

Why Mamaroneck is Comprised of a Town and Two Villages

Settlement Needs

Census 1698

Neutral Ground (Mamaroneck during the American Revolution)

Historical Snapshots